2017 Winners

Here are the winners and finalists of the 2017 Awards.

Read more about individual winners by selecting the link of their name. Read Excellence in Aotearoa, articles about the award winners (first published in the Public Sector Journal).

Prime Minister's Award for Public Sector Excellence
and Crown - Maori Relationships

Winner: Te Urewera - DOC Tuhoe Partnership, Department of Conservation and Te Uru Taumatua

Finalists in Crown - Maori Relationships category:

He mātaitanga kotahi kia ora ai koe - one free scan to save your life. The Waitemata AAA Screening Pilot for Māori, Waitemata District Health Board

Crown Property Disposals Portal, Land Information New Zealand

Achieving Collective Impact

Winner: SmartStart, Department of Internal Affairs, Ministry of Social Development, Inland Revenue, Ministry of Health

Finalists: Manaaki Hauora - Supporting Wellness Campaign, Ko Awatea

Ara – Auckland Airport Jobs and Skills Hub, Ministry of Social Development

Building Trust and Confidence in Government

Winner: Community Safety Patrols, New Zealand Police

Finalists: Security Response Programme, Ministry of Social Development

Reflections from our audits: Governance and accountability - A guide for Parliament and the public, Office of the Auditor-General

Digital Government

Sorted: Sorted!, Commission for Financial Capability

Finalists: Enterprise Bookings Solution, Auckland Council

MyMSD, Ministry of Social Development

Excellence in Regulatory Systems

Winner: Joint Electronic Verification System, New Zealand Customs

Finalists: Development and Implementation of the Health and Safety at Work (Major Hazard Facilities) Regulations 2016, WorkSafe New Zealand, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Harmful Digital Communications Programme, Ministry of Justice

Improving Diversity and Inclusiveness in the Public Sector

Winner: Opening our eyes through blind recruitment, The Treasury

Finalists: Grow our Own, Counties Manukau Health

ALLY Network, Unitec Institute of Technology

Improving Performance through Leadership Excellence

Winner: Transforming MPI by Growing Exceptional Leaders, Ministry for Primary Industries

Finalist: Emerging Leaders’ programmes, The Department of Corrections

Improving Public Value through Business Transformation

Redefining Radio - The Transformation of Radio New Zealand, Radio New Zealand

Finalists: HealthPathways, Canterbury District Health Board

Trade Targeting Rule refinement to increase Trade Facilitation and Community Protection, New Zealand Customs Service

Integrated Laboratory Programme, Capital & Coast District Health Board

Public Sector Engagement

Review of Retirement Income Policies, Commission for Financial Capability

Finalists: Auckland Council elections 2016, Auckland Council

Waitemata DHB bowel screening pilot, Waitemata District Health Board

Young Professional of the Year

Winner: Genevieve Rainey, Department of Conservation

Finalists: Sam Thornton, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Simon Sanders, Ministry of Education

Poster Award for Excellence in Design of Supporting Poster

Winner: Waitemata DHB bowel screening pilot, Waitemata District Health Board