2018 Award winners

Here are the Award winners and finalists.

The booklet with details of all the award winners and finalists is attached. You can also read stories about the award winners, from an article in the Public Sector journal.

Prime Minister's Award for Public Sector Excellence and
Achieving Collective Impact

Winner: Delivering fees-free tertiary education for 2018, Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education Commission, Ministry of Social Development, Inland Revenue

Finalists in Achieving Collective Impact category

Moving mountains to reconnect communities, NZ Transport Agency, KiwiRail

National wilding conifer control programme, Land Information New Zealand, Department of Conservation, Ministry for Primary Industries

Building Trust and Confidence in Government

Winner: Project CORTEX, Government Communications Security Bureau

Finalist: Strengthening Digital Technologies and Hangarau Matihiko in the National Curriculum, Ministry of Education

Crown-Maori Relationships

Winner: Waikato Expressway Rangiriri section, NZ Transport Agency

Finalists: He Tohu exhibition, Department of Internal Affairs

Te Ao Maruiti, Worksafe New Zealand, Accident Compensation Commission

Digital Government

Winner: Establishment of CERT NZ, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Finalists: Building a Digital District Plan, New Plymouth District Council

Nga Kete, Tertiary Education Commission

Regulatory Systems

Winner: Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing Terrorism, Ministry of Justice, Department of Internal Affairs, Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Financial Markets Authority, New Zealand Customs, Inland Revenue

Finalists: Calf animal welfare project, Ministry for Primary Industries

Statutory Processes Implementation, Department of Conservation

Diversity and Inclusiveness in the Public Sector

Winner: Transforming NZ Police recruitment to drive diversity, New Zealand Police

Finalists: Tupu Tai Pasifika Public Sector Internship Programme, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Closing the Gender Pay Gap, Government Communications Security Bureau

Business Transformation

Winner: Taking it to the People - Transforming the General Election, Electoral Commission

Finalists: Tamaki Housing Association - Establishment and initial operation, Tamaki Housing Association

Fire and Emergency New Zealand Transition project - Fire and Emergency New Zealand

Public Sector Engagement

Winner: WTF Tairawhiti: Long Term Plan early engagement campaign, Gisborne District Council

Finalists: #FFSVote, For Future's Sake campaign, Te Puni Kokiri

Newsline - an online news channel connecting the people of Christchurch with the Council, their community and their city, Christchurch City Council

Young Professional of the Year

Winner: Dr Eleri Clissold, Waitemata District Health Board

Finalists: Taylor Winter, Statistics New Zealand

Natasha Lewis, Ministry for Women