Nominations encouraged for Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018

Public Sector organisations are encouraged to submit nominations for New Zealand’s longest-running and most prestigious public sector awards.

Nominations for the Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards 2018 close on Thursday, 8 March.

The awards recognise outstanding achievement and innovation by public sector organisations and teams across ten categories.

IPANZ President Jo Cribb says, “Last year we introduced a new category for those who are improving diversity and inclusiveness within the Public Sector. We look forward to more nominations in this category, as well as the other nine.”

The Prime Minister’s Award for Public Sector Excellence is the top award. In 2017 the winner was Te Urewera – DOC Tūhoe Partnership which the judges said was, “An excellent initiative, demonstrating a transformation in the relationship.”

Deloitte partner and public sector lead David Lovatt says Deloitte is proud to be lead sponsor of the awards.

“We are committed to supporting excellence in public policy, administration and management in the sector. Public sector agencies make a huge impact on the lives of all New Zealanders, and publically recognising successful initiatives is vitally important. Each year we are impressed by the high calibre of entries and we are looking forward to another bumper year of nominations.”

The awards, which have been running since 2008, are open to central and local government (including Council-controlled organisations), District Health Boards and tertiary institutions.

The Awards Ceremony will be held on 25 July 2018 at the TSB Arena, Wellington.

More information about the awards and how to enter can be found at:

Media contact:

Margaret McLachlan
Communications Manager, IPANZ
04 463 6940; 027 247 8047